SHL Round 6
29th May @ Ardclough
Ardclough 4-15 Leixlip 1-08

Ardclough’s Aidan Buggle

Ardclough claim victory over Leixlip with a sixteen point win in the Senior Hurling League at Daniel Graham Memorial Park.

With the two sides set to meet in the preliminary round of the Senior Hurling Championship in a months time, Ardclough haven’t certainly set down a marker with this big win.

Leixlip came into this game this game with four losses and only a single league win, that coming against Clane in a high scoring affair. Ardclough however were looking to build on their high scoring draw with Coill Dubh last time out.

In what was goalkeeper Aidan Buggle’s first game as captain for 2012, his defence were tight to their men throughout. County veteran Richie Hoban mopping up from his centre-back position.

Ardclough’s other Kildare players, brothers Martin and Paul Fitzgerald were paired at midfield and were also involved in many of their host’s attacks. Along with Philip, the three Fitzgerald brothers hit 1-10 between them in the game.

The Leixlip defence tried hard and intercepted lots of chances to their credit, but Ardclough were able to recycle possession and find a way through to keep the scores flowing.

Leading 2-06 to 0-06 at the break, Ardclough introduced subs, including former county player Brendan Byrne, who fired in two goals past Leixlip keeper Conor Cunningham, as Ardclough ran out sixteen-point winners. Other scorers for Ardclough were Ronan O’Malley (1-00), Brian Coulston (0-02), Colm Buggy (0-01) and Tony Spain (0-01) as Ardclough climb to 3rd in the SHL table.

Leixlip will be very disappointed with the result, especially as their goal came in the final poc of the game. They will need to regroup quickly for the preliminary round of the championship, against the same opponents.


Aidan Buggle; Niall Coulston, Seán Buggle, Darragh Walsh; Enda Duane, Richie Hoban, Peter Coleman; Martin Fitzgerald 0-06 (3f’s, 1’65), Paul Fitzgerald 0-03; Ronan O’Malley 1-00, Brian Coulston 0-02, Philip Fitzgerald 1-01; Colm Buggy 0-01, Tony Spain 0-01, Dermot Coulston.

Cathal Fenton for T.Spain, Seán Buggy for Philip Fitzgerald, Johnny Reeves 0-01 for C.Buggy, Brendan Byrne 2-00 for D. Coulston, Piaras Ó Mídheach for D.Walsh


Conor Cunningham; Aidan Doran, John Doran, Tom Jones; Ryan Doyle, Diarmuid Shinnors 0-01, Niall Egan; Robbie Roche, Peter Hayes 0-01; Aidan Ryan 0-02, Cathal Small, Lorcan Shinnors; Gary Savage 0-01, Barry Roche 0-01, John Roche 1-02 (1f)

Michael Shaughnessy for R. Doyle, Kieran Carey for R. Roche, William Fox for N. Egan, Paddy Murphy for T. Jones

Referee: Alan Lagrue (Naas)