• Defeat for Killardfey in Féile Div 2 Final


    28th April @St. Conleth’s Park, Newbridge
    Bord na nÓg U-14 Hurling
    Division 2 Final

    Nas na Ríogh 2-06
    Killardfey 0-03


    A strong second half-performance from Nas na Ríogh enabled them to put 1-06 past Killardfey and claim the Division 2 Hurling Féile title at St. Conleth’s Park.

    Killardfey survived a lively start by Naas’s second team. Keeper Drew Costello alert to parry an initial shot away from goal, before Nas na Ríogh’s James O’Reilly shot wide from the rebound.

    Killardfey then settled into the game, building from a strong defence, led by full-back Morgan Cocoman and got their first score thanks to a pointed free by Seán Whelan.

    Another free, this time a long-range effort from Paudie O’Neill, extended their leads after fifteen minutes.

    Killardfey had the bulk of possesion at this juncture, with Nas na Ríogh depending on rare attacks to make in-roads.

    Killardfey got their third point with a fine effort from play, another for Whelan, ten minutes before half-time. But unfortunately for Killardfey that would be their last score of the game.

     Less than five minutes before the break Nas na Ríogh had a stroke of luck when a long-range effort by Brian Tobin bounced in a crowded square. It found its way to the back of the net and the teams were level and remained so at the break.

    Killardfey 0-03
    Nas na Ríogh 1-00


    Three quick points for the blue-and-whites on the resumption, the second from the penalty spot by Luca Conroy, gave them the lead which they wouldn’t relinquish.

    Then another goal for Nas Na Ríogh, a second for Tobin, midway through the half made it very difficult for Killardfey to come back but shortly after they had a goal chance of their own.

    They were unlucky as keeper Laurence Buggy kept out Killardfey’s Adam Gallagher’s double effort.

    Nas Na Ríogh added three further points in the last twelve minutes of play as they pulled away.

    Killardfey fought well throughout and kept playing until the final whistle but were just outplayed on the day by a strong Naas outfit. 


    Best for Killardfey:
    Morgan Cocoman, Fionn Kelly, Paudie O Neill, Seán Whelan

    Ard Ceann Fuaid:
    Drew Costello; Jamie Clyne, Morgan Cocoman; Ben Reddan, Michael O’Maloney; Fionn Kelly; Kieran Kilbane,; Daragh Doyle, Paudie O’Neill; Dean Reeves, Séan Whelan, Cillian Hogan; Neill Ryan, Aaron Croke, Cody Courtney Cross.

    Scorers: Seán Whelan 0-02 (1f), Paudie O’Neill 0-01

    Subs Used:  Ben Culliton, Adam Gallagher, Derry Lehehan, Josh Morgan, Josh Fogarty.

    Panel: Daniel Ecock, Conor Walsh, Eoin Walsh, Brian Lawlor, Paul Byrne, Seán Farrell, Michael Small, Ciarán Neville, Eoin Finneran, Joe Ahern, Cian Lawlor

    Manager: Andrew Whelan

    Referee: Killian Jones (Kilcock)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *